Audiobook Review: ‘Son of the Dawn’

I’ve fallen a bit behind with Ghosts of the Shadow Market novella releases, but that just means I can read multiple stories at once, and post multiple reviews back to back!

Spoilers for The Mortal Instruments & The Infernal Devices series.
If you haven’t finished both series, don’t read this short story and don’t read my review! 🙂 (No spoilers for Dark Artifices series.)

I will put these spoiler warnings before all Ghosts of the Shadow Market reviews, but a rule of thumb in the Shadowhunter world is – if you aren’t caught up, read it in publication order.

Title: Son of the Dawn
Author: Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan
Series: Ghosts of the Shadow Market #1
Rating: 3.5/5

Goodreads Summary

Continue reading Audiobook Review: ‘Son of the Dawn’


Review: ‘The Gilded Wolves’

I won this from a Goodreads giveaway! I know, they’re actually somehow possible to win. But I was excited!

Title: The Gilded Wolves

Author: Roshani Chokshi

Series: The Gilded Wolves

Rating: 3/5 stars

Continue reading Review: ‘The Gilded Wolves’

Audiobook Review: ‘Heart of Iron’

I really wanted to like this book. REALLY REALLY wanted to like it! It was one of my most anticipated books of 2018! But as I saw mixed reviews start coming in before release date, and I read about 50 pages and wasn’t feeling it, I set the book down to read at a later date. I thought, ‘Maybe when the hype dies down I’ll look at it with fresh eyes!’ When the audiobook came out, I decided I’d give this another try….to no avail. I was disappointed.

Title: Heart of Iron
Author: Ashley Poston
Series: Heart of Iron
Rating: 2/5 stars

Goodreads Summary

Continue reading Audiobook Review: ‘Heart of Iron’

Audiobook Review: ‘Monday’s Not Coming’

After reading Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson in 2017, I knew I had to read everything she wrote in the future and Monday’s Not Coming did not disappoint! It was very different from Allegedly, but I could definitely feel the writing style I fell in love with shine through.

Title: Monday’s Not Coming
Author: Tiffany D. Jackson
Series: n/a – Standalone
Rating: 3.5/5 stars (Rounded to 4/5 on Goodreads)

Continue reading Audiobook Review: ‘Monday’s Not Coming’

Audiobook Review: ‘More Happy Than Not’

Despite loving both YA and queer genre books, I can’t believe it has taken me this long to read More Happy Than Not! I read They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera last fall and LOVED IT, so of course I had to backtrack and read his previous books. (History Is All You Left Me is also on my radar.)

Title: More Happy Than Not
Author: Adam Silvera
Rating: 2/5 stars

Continue reading Audiobook Review: ‘More Happy Than Not’

Audiobook Review: “To Kill A Kingdom”

This is the siren/pirate/ocean book I never knew I needed and I am SO glad I found! This is sort of a Little Mermaid retelling, except I’m not talking about the Disney version, and this is rather dark – so take that as you will. I felt some similarities, but this is also its own story!

Title: To Kill A Kingdom
Author: Alexandra Christo
Series: n/a – Standalone
Rating: 4/5 stars

Continue reading Audiobook Review: “To Kill A Kingdom”