‘My Fair Brady’ by Brian D. Kennedy – Audiobook Review

If you were a theater kid (or tech kid) in school, this book is for you! I wasn’t a theater kid (unfortunately, looking back now, I wish I was!) but I am a fan of Broadway musicals and plays as an adult and this book is so much fun and I highly recommend it!

Title: My Fair Brady
Author: Brian D. Kennedy
Series: Standalone
Genres: Romance, LGBTQ, Retelling

Goodreads Summary

My Fair Brady is My Fair Lady meets the classic teen film She’s All That – but don’t worry, I don’t know either reference and I still really enjoyed this book. This is for all the theater kids, or wanna be theater kids, or for anyone who is looking for a really fun story.

Elijah Brady is a sophomore and hasn’t had much luck making real friends. He tries but keeps embarrassing himself and ends up accidentally joining the tech crew for the spring musical to try and befriend some upperclassman. He’s openly gay so any guy he tries to befriend think he’s just getting hit on, rather than innocent friendship.

Wade Westmore is a leading man who misses out on the lead role for the musical in his senior year – to his ex-boyfriend Reese, no less. Reese dumped him for being too self-involved and not thinking of anyone but himself.

When Elijah and Wade literally run into each other, Wade has an idea – if he helps Elijah become more confident in himself, it’ll prove Wade cares about more than just himself and win Reese back in time for senior prom! Wade is going to turn Elijah into ‘Brady’ – a new version of himself.

This story was so wholesome and cute! It’s not without its drama (these are drama students, after all) but everything about this story worked for me, from the main characters to the side character best friends and classmates. Both Wade and Elijah have their flaws but they’re teenagers – they aren’t supposed to be perfect and this all felt very realistic.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is audiothoughts-1.jpg

This audiobook has two narrator, Michael Crouch for Elijah and Keven R. Free for Wade and I love dual narration audiobooks! I’ve listened to Michael Crouch narrate many times before and I really enjoy his voice, and it’s always nice to hear him again. The audiobook did this story justice and I would recommend if that’s your thing, but you won’t be missing out if you don’t listen.

My Rating:

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is recommendation-1.jpg

If you’re a fan of musicals or plays or Broadway shows in general, this one is meant for you! As a now theater adult who was not raised on musicals, I loved this and wish I was a theater kid in high school. It’s never to late to start! If you’re looking for a feel good read, give this one a try.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is missy-signature-2.jpg

4 thoughts on “‘My Fair Brady’ by Brian D. Kennedy – Audiobook Review

Leave a comment