‘Wreck the Halls’ by Tessa Bailey – Audiobook Review

Early January for me means frantically trying to read any last minute “Christmas” themed books I didn’t get to in December. While this isn’t actually Christmas themed, the events in this book lead up to a Christmas Eve event and I’m glad I read this in winter. It’s a cute and quick rom-com and I loved it!

Title: Wreck the Halls
Author: Tessa Bailey
Series: Standalone
Genres: Romance, Contemporary, Holiday – Christmas

Goodreads Summary

Melody Gallard and Beat Dawkins are the two children from the two women rockstar leads of Steel Birds – who broke up unexpectedly before the kids were even born. Their mothers fame lives on in infamy and with their old song blowing up in current times, the world wants a reunion. The only problem is the two women hate each other.

Melody and Beat know of each other, but besides meeting once when they were teenagers, they have never really interacted. Until a reality TV producer approaches them both about getting their mothers to agree to a reunion show on Christmas Eve. Melody has lived a quiet live out of the spotlight, while Beat is the exact opposite and loves the attention. They both agree to the show and work together on this quest to reunite their mothers.

What they don’t know is how the world, while wanting that Steel Birds reunion, will also fall in love with Mel and Beat.

This story was soooo cute and made me smile non-stop! Melody and Beat both felt like real, fleshed out characters with backstories and lives outside of each other. Melody is a bit of a “fangirl” of Beat and thus relatable to us, the reader. But Beat feels the same infatuation with her!

I loved this wild chase around New York City and to Vermont where Mel’s mother lives in a hippie commune. The reality show hooks viewers and I really enjoyed that concept! While its not a new idea, I loved how it all worked together in this story.

I will admit the name ‘Beat’ is really cheesy and unrealistic, but I didn’t let it bother me. Melody is a fine acceptable real world name. My only true complaint is that the ending felt very abrupt. But overall, I’m happy with my first read of 2024!

I’ve head that Tessa Bailey books can be a hit or miss for people. This is only my second Tessa Bailey book, the first being It Happened One Summer (which was a total miss for me…) but this was a hit! I’m going to have to give more of her books a try and see which works for me!

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is audiothoughts-1.jpg

This book had two POVs, so two audiobook narrators! I adored both of them, they really brought this story to life for me and I recommend listening to this one!

My Rating:

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is recommendation-1.jpg

If you’re looking for a quick sweet rom-com that also has to do with musician parents, check this one out! I love any type of story with music is involved so this was a spot on romance book for me.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is missy-signature-2.jpg

Leave a comment