‘Titanic’ @ New York City Center: NYC (6/16/24)

I’m making it a point to see every Encores! performance put on by New York City Center, and the latest show is Titanic running June 11-23, 2024.

Show Name: Titanic
Show Type: Musical
Location:  New York City Center, NYC
Date Seen: June 16, 2024 @ 2PM

I know the “story” of Titanic, but I’ve never seen/heard the musical before so this was a new show for me, and what a production! NY City Center never disappoints with the all star cast and a full orchestra. This show is incredibly beautiful. Everytime I looked at the cast list I was surprised again by how many big names were in this show.

Encores! productions pare down the show for a very minimal set and performed in concert style. The cast are often still on book, with a short rehearsal time prior to hitting the stage. The minimal set has never bothered me and the cast being on book, all the better, they’re still doing a great job!

Ramin Karimloo as Frederick Barrett was fantastic, and I even heard some older ladies in the restroom line talking about how handsome he is – his performance is not to be missed in anything he does.

Bonnie Milligan as Alice Beane is another actor I was really looking forward to seeing – I loved her in Kimberly Akimbo and she even won a Tony Award for her role as Aunt Debra! She’s both funny and incredibly heartfelt, and has a stunning voice.

Alex Joseph Grayson as Harold Bride is an actor I feel I’ve been seeing a lot lately, and he’s great in everything he does and I cannot wait to continue to see and hear him on stage.

I could go on and on about this cast – each actor is talented!

As someone who didn’t know the music going in, I really enjoyed it! There is a cast album available for streaming from a previous Broadway production if you want to listen to some of the magic.

I’m glad I didn’t miss the boat on this one and could catch this production!

Would you like to see Titanic, The Musical?

One thought on “‘Titanic’ @ New York City Center: NYC (6/16/24)

  1. Pingback: Attending Broadway Fanfare: 2024 Tony Awards Official Simulcast: NYC (6/16/24) – Frayed Books

Leave a comment