‘Hadestown’ @ Walter Kerr Theater: NYC (6/5/24)

I haven’t seen Hadestown on Broadway since November 2023, so obviously I had to fix that ASAP, and especially during Pride month, and especially before a handful of the main cast leave at the end of June! PHEW I made it!

Show Name: Hadestown
Show Type: Musical
Location:  Walter Kerr Theatre, NYC
Date Seen: June 5, 2024 @ 7:30PM

I did see Hadestown on tour in April 2024 in Philadelphia, but I genuinely haven’t seen the Broadway cast since before Reeve Carney left, which feels like ages ago!

Isa Briones currently stars as Eurydice and I adore her! She’s starring alongside her father, Jon Jon Briones, who is currently playing Hermes – I love the family connection. Jordan Fisher is currently Orpheus and it was my first time seeing him, and he put a whole new spin on this role I know and love. And to finish it off, we have Phillip Boykin as Hades, and Ani DiFranco as Persephone.

When the show begins and Hermes enters the stage, he always greets the workers sitting on stage and Eurydice – Hermes always does something special for Eurydice, but Jon Jon kissed Isa’s forehead and it was the sweetest thing knowing she’s his daughter.

I’ve been eager to see Jordan Fisher as Orpheus and he did not disappoint! Reeve Carney was the Orpheus I saw most often (with a few understudies) so he was how I considered ‘Orpheus’ – so it was wonderful to see Jordan’s spin on the role – it’s still the same, but he added so many tiny things to this role and that’s what I love most about seeing a production multiple times!

During ‘Come Home with Me’ when he asks Eurydice to come home with him, Jordan asks it so innocently and sweetly. It was different from Reeve, I can’t explain it, but it was different. Everyone always laughs at that part, and the crowd for this performance felt especially lively and into it!

Jon Jon is Filipino and added Tagalog phrases throughout the performance and I loved that he did that. It was small enough you could easily figure out the context of what he said or meant, but I heard from others who are Filipino they really loved these added words. I first noticed he said something after Persephone gives everyone strong drinks.

‘All I’ve Ever Known’ was so tender and sweet, as it always is, but it’s also always worth noting.

When the company is singing ‘Way Down Hadestown’ and Hades appears for the first time, he has Persphone on his arm but looks over at Eurydice – Orpheus always jumps in front of her as if to protect her, but Jordan’s “jump” felt half hearted.

There’s a part Hermes goes, 1, 2, 1 2 3 4 and he said this in Tagalog as well – and I learned 1 is ‘Isa’ which is also his daughter’s name!

‘Wait For Me’ is one of the highlights of the show in my opinion, one of the strongest and most emotional parts as well as most visually stunning. Jordan did not disappoint. As the set changed to “Hadestown” aka hell, the crowd cheered at the change!

Onto Act 2, Persephone opens the act with ‘Our Lady of the Underground’ and at one point says, “I don’t know about you boys” and each Persephone does something different here. Ani DiFranco said ‘boys’ so sweetly and put her hands under the two round circle mics to emphasize the ‘boys’ part if you catch my drift.

‘Flowers’ is another song that is always incredibly emotional, but Isa really brought it home during this song. You could see the tears on her face.

Immediately following this emotional song, Orpheus finds his way into Hadestown and sees Eurydice again. I always love when the audience gasps when he runs down the right side aisle to the stage. When she asks him, “How did you get here?” and he replies, “I walked,” to which the audience laughed, “a long way.” 

Jordan Orpehus seems so much more confident during Act 2 of the show! His voice is stronger, his actions have more power behind them, you can really see him grow during the show.

When Hades says, “Your song left an impression on my wife”, Orpheus and Persephone are holding hands – platonically, mind you, but I never saw the actors do that before. He also whispers something to her, all in character, but the friendship between Orpheus and Persephone are something I’ve never seen before.

I’ve seen Phillip Boykin as Hades once before, but it seems he’s added more things to his Hades since then and its so fun. In his dance with Persephone, he really puts on the moves and groves which had the audience again laughing, he was so into it!

When Eurydice says, “you finished it!” in regards to the song, Orpheus replies, “Now what do I do?” and the tone Jordan said it in was so sweet.

As Hermes tells Orpheus he can leave, Orpheus says, “It’s not a trick?” and Hermes replies, “No, it’s a test.” but after ‘no’ he added in another Tagalog word which I assume meant something like son or child. (If anyone can confirm I’d love to know for sure!)

The story ends like it always does, and yet they begin to tell it again and again. The audience had the biggest gasps I’ve heard in a while at the end, with the guy sitting next to me actually putting his hands up to his face in shock!

Afterwards it was out to the stage door which a few of the cast came out to sign, including both Isa and Jon Jon! I’m so happy I was able to see both of them most of all, and of course Jordan who is currently scheduled to be in the show through mid-September.

If you haven’t seen Hadetown yet or in a while, I highly recommend going back and taking the journey again!

Do you like Greek mythology?

Leave a comment