Attending Broadway Fanfare: 2024 Tony Awards Official Simulcast: NYC (6/16/24)

On Sunday evening after I saw Titanic, I headed over to Damrosch Park at Lincoln Center for an ~official~ Tony Awards Viewing Party! I have never attended a Tony Awards viewing party before, so this was my first experience watching it with others – but also at a well organized and planned event!

This event was free and open to the public. If you pre-registered and had an American Express card, you were able to join an early entry line – but everyone who was on line was let in as there was plenty of space provided!

I didn’t know what to expect, but the event was hosted by Spring Awakening star Skylar Astin with live performances during commercial breaks! There were a number of interactive events as well, including photo ops and Broadway trivia. The event provided free water bottles and popcorn, and had food/drinks for purchase as well.

The first performance was by Maya Boyd, currently staring as Juliet in & Juliet! She sang, ‘Baby One More Time’ from the show.

Skylar Astin did some talking, had some audience members come on stage, and then he himself performed ‘Summer Nights’ from Grease with an audience singalong!

Later on we had last year’s Tony Award winner Bonnie Milligan performing Don’t Rain On My Parade! She had performed in Titanic just this afternoon, lucky me getting to hear Bonnie twice in one day!

Last but not least, we had Donna Vivino currently in Hell’s Kitchen on Broadway come over direct from the Tony Awards after their live performance to sing ‘Teenage Love Affair’!

Not only were these performances a really nice and fun surprise, but I loved cheering for and excitement when Tony Award winners were announced! There’s nothing like being surrounded by others who share your love for theater.

If this event happens again next year, I would highly recommend attending, I had a blast!

Would you attend a Tony Award viewing party?

Leave a comment