ALC Review: ‘Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You’

If I hear the name Jason Reynolds, I know I’m in for a real treat – anything with his name on it is always so good and told in such an easy to understand way.  This reimagining of Dr. Ibram X. Kendi’s National Book Award-winning Stamped from the Beginning reveals the history of racist ideas in America, and inspires hope for an antiracist future. Jason puts it into easy to understand language for young adults and adults alike.

Thanks to libro.fm for the advanced listening copy!

Title: Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You
Author: Jason Reynolds – Ibram X. Kendi
Series: Standalone
Genres: Nonfiction, History
Publication Date: March 10, 2020

Goodreads Summary

Likes

First off, let me tell you that the audiobook is narrated by Jason himself and if that isn’t enough to make you want to listen to this, I don’t know what is. Jason Reynolds is one of my all time favorite audiobook narrators – he’s read a lot of his recent works and I would like this man to read me literally everything from now on. He has such a soothing voice, I would highly recommend this as an audiobook!

Jason says, “This is not a history book” – but it does give you history. History we might have learned in school but have forgotten. History that standard textbooks don’t want you to know. History between the lines.

This book is real. This all really happened and is currently happening.

Jason reading this book really engages the reads – it engaged me. It felt like he was talking just to me. It didn’t feel like a lecture, it felt like a teacher explaining something to me that I didn’t know.

This is a book that will make you stop and think about the world around you. It will make you question why people think the way they do. This story will show you how things were, how things are, and how with a change of thought, we can change the future. This is a face paced read and you won’t want it to end!

AudioThoughts

Jason Reynolds can read me the phone book and it would be beautiful. This man has such a soothing voice, its perfect for audiobooks. I highly recommend listening to this and anything else he has narrated! I love when authors read their own writing – it feels like he was speaking just to me.

My Rating:

Recommendation

I recommend this book whole heartedly. There’s always more to be learned about the world, about racism, about how we can combat it – and this book gave me some new ways of thinking.

Missy-signature

4 thoughts on “ALC Review: ‘Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You’

  1. Pingback: Top 10 of 2020 ~ Missy’s Picks

Leave a comment