Audio Review: ‘Sherwood’

I didn’t hate the first book in this sort of series so I figured I would try this one because I really needed a Robin Hood genderbent retelling!

 

Title: Sherwood

Author: Meagan Spooner

Series: Standalone

Genres: Fantasy, Retellings, Young Adult, Historical Fiction

Goodreads Summary

Likes

I need more genderbent retellings in my life!  I love Robin Hood (read: Arrow was one of my favorite TV shows) so I was totally ready for this one. Marian was a good main character. She had admirable qualities but she also was kind of silly at times. Sometimes that can happen with a character so I didn’t hold it against her. I felt that her character development was well done and it was cool to see how she changed throughout the course of the story. This was an enjoyable plot line that kept me listening. I thought it was a neat idea that Marian became Robin Hood because the old one had died and it did have an Arrow-type feel to it, considering they replace him all the time in that show, but that’s an entirely different blog post. The romance wasn’t my favorite thing and I don’t feel like it was memorable enough for me to have feelings about it. I think this book had a lot of potential but it just didn’t stack up for me as I had hoped.

Dislikes

All in all, this book was alright. It definitely got better towards the end of the story and that is why it gained the rating that it did, rather than a lower one. I haven’t loved this author’s writing in the past but I do give chances to new stories written by the same author, even if I didn’t love the previous book. This was one of those and I’m glad that I read it, at least. There were some times that I was a little bored but once it picked up in the last quarter, I was definitely more into it.

My Rating:

3-Star-rating.png

Recommendation

I would recommend this book to fans of genderbent retellings as well as those who like this author’s writing style. This was an okay book for me but I didn’t love it as much as I wanted to.

Tay-signature

 

 

2 thoughts on “Audio Review: ‘Sherwood’

  1. I’ve seen a lot of mixed reviews on this book and have seen it all over social media. I might have to see if it’s something that I would enjoy as genderbent retellings are one of my fav tropes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment