Review: ‘Carry On’

I went into Carry On with my expectations set very low. I am pleasantly surprised to say, this was a 4/5 star read for me! “You were the sun, and I was crashing into you.”

Title: Carry On
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Rating: 4/5 stars

I have previously read two other Rainbow Rowell books (Fangirl and Landline), neither of which I really enjoyed. I didn’t plan to read another Rainbow Rowell book – nothing against her, her writing just wasn’t for me! But on a whim (and because of the pretty new paperback cover design) I picked up Carry On. And I quickly became obsessed! I needed to know where Baz is! What would happen to Simon? Who is Lucy? So many questions!

I really enjoyed that this book was split between many different points of views – sometimes just a few sentences of each character within a chapter. It was a different way of reading then I was used to and I greatly enjoyed it!

I listened to Carry On via the audio and it was fantastic. I’m picky when it comes to British accents (and my ability to understand them, as I tend to listen to audio on 2x speed) but this audiobook was great and I highly recommend listening to it if that’s your fancy.

The spells magicians cast in this book were hilariously wonderful! Some were nursery rhymes or songs we learn as children. Some were phrases we say in every day life. And some sounded like they came straight out of a TV commercial such as my favorite: “Have a break, have a Kit-Kat.” These spells were genius – taking simple words and turning them into magic.

Incase you weren’t aware, there is LGBT representation in this book. Yes. It’s Simon and Baz. But how do they end up going from enemies to friends (?) to more then friends (!?). That is the great question. Even after hearing about this book from others, I was curious to see how it all happened! It did not disappoint.

“You were the sun, and I was crashing into you.”

This quote is both very ‘gag-too-cute’ yet also swoon worthy. I thought it was cheesy until I read it in context and then, cue the awww-ing.

While Carry On has similarities to the Harry Potter world, the similarities ends at it being about magic and there being a ‘Chosen One’. That’s it. Baz isn’t Draco or Ron. Baz is Baz. Penny isn’t Hermione, she is Penny. This is a fantasy book about magic so if you like that, this book is for you. And while yes, this is the story that Cath in Fangirl writes fanfiction about, this isn’t fanfiction. This is its own story. Confused? Don’t be. Just read the book and enjoy it for what it is – a great fantasy novel.

At the end of the day, this isn’t just a love story. It’s an adventure about magic and magicians and mages and dragons and funny spells.

~Missy

Published by

frayedbooks

➰⚡️👑 📚Goodreads: tayecar & missykitty 📩Contact: frayedbooks@yahoo.com 🗣Twitter: @frayedbooks

4 thoughts on “Review: ‘Carry On’”

Leave a Reply

