Review: ‘Eliza and Her Monsters’

Another Zappia read because I’ve heard a lot about this one!

 

Title: Eliza and Her Monsters

Author: Francesca Zappia

Series: Standalone

Rating: 3/5 stars

Summary

Another 3 stars on this one. I don’t know, maybe it’s just not my style of writing! But I wanted to try it either way because the cover is super cute. This book follows Eliza, also known as LadyConstellation, who is the creator of the Monstrous Sea comic online. She meets a fan at her school and struggles throughout the book about whether to tell him the truth about her identity.

Likes

My favorite thing about this book was the comics that were interwoven with the actual narrative. I thought this was a unique touch and made me think a little of Fangirl! It was cool to see what Eliza was sketching and working on, when it was talked about in the narrative and I was able to see the characters that she created. It broke up the chapters well, too, which is something I appreciate when reading a super long book! I also did like Eliza. I thought that she was sweet and so creative, much more creative than I will ever be.  She used art to express herself and build an online following that honestly was incredible to see. But I also respected when she struggled in the book because it was very real and it showed the facts of what being a teenager are like. She was also a loner and I think the author did a great job of showing how parents react when their child spends a lot of time on the computer. Of course, Eliza was doing it to continue her comics, but her parents still nagged her a lot. That got a little bit annoying halfway through the book: more on that later. I also think her relationship with her online friends was something that I could really relate to. I have met a ton of my friends via the Internet and they are some of the best friends I have. Just because they don’t live near me doesn’t mean that they aren’t true friends and I cherish them just as much as I do the friends I see in person quite often.

Dislikes

I expected more from this book. After reading Made You Up, I knew the writing wasn’t for me, but I had heard so many good comments and I don’t discount books because I didn’t like another one (it’s happened to me before that one book an author writes just isn’t my thing, but another one I absolutely love). I think the story was fleshed out well but I wanted to see more to the plot than a struggle to decide whether to tell Wallace the truth or not. I wanted to see Eliza grow a bit more and grow into herself. She did face her fear and I respect her so much for that, but I needed more character development. I wanted to feel more of a connection to her and I didn’t feel that much. I also think that the love story between her and Wallace would’ve worked better as a strong friendship because I didn’t feel much romance or connection between them, in a romantic sense. The book felt a little ‘young’ for me but I am glad I read it and got to explore the story of Monstrous Seas.

Recommendation

I would recommend this book to those who are fans of Zappia and want a cute, light story. There isn’t much heaviness here and it was a nice thing to read after Girl in Pieces, which hit me quite hard and quick.

Happy reading! ~ Taylor

Published by

frayedbooks

➰⚡️👑 📚Goodreads: tayecar & missykitty 📩Contact: frayedbooks@yahoo.com 🗣Twitter: @frayedbooks

3 thoughts on “Review: ‘Eliza and Her Monsters’”

  1. I agree that I expected this to be a bit more of an emotional or heavy read than it was. I didn’t expect all of the fluff and adorableness in the first half but I still really liked it. Probably my favorite part was the fact that Eliza and Wallace were flawed characters and felt very real and relatable

    Like

Leave a Reply

