Review: ‘Nevernight’

I put off reading Nevernight until close to the release date of Godsgrave because I just had a feeling this would be a series I would want (need) to read back to back.

And.

I was right.

Title: Nevernight
Author: Jay Kristoff
Series: The Nevernight Chronicle
Rating: 5/5 stars

First, please let me get my fangirling out. ALDSJLFJASLDFKAJDAFJLDASD ALL THINGS HOLY OMG CAPSLOCK TO INFINITY AND BEYOND THIS BOOK IS FREAKING A-MAZ-ING WITH A CAPITAL A.

I honestly don’t know if my review will be able to do this book justice, but I will try my damn best! This is a spoiler free review, so I will not be going into too many details.

You’ll either absolutely love and devour this book, or it’ll confuse the f out of you and you’ll hate it. There really is no in between. I LOVED THIS BOOK. I CAN’T BELIEVE I WAITED SO LONG TO READ IT but oh yes I can because now I can jump right into Godsgrave (and then sob as I have to wait for the final book).

I should also warn you, if books came with ratings, this book would be rated R. And I mean this in the best possible way. The main character(s) are technically teens – 16, 17 or so but this is not a young adult book. There is murder and blood and violence and sex and language and #stabstabstab and death. This is not for the faint of heart. This will not have a happy ending. (I hope I’m wrong on that…but I don’t think I am.)

This story is told by a mysterious narrator – by “someone who knew her true.” (I have theories on who this narrator could be, but we’ll save that for the Godsgrave review.)

The “her” the narrator speaks of is Mia Corvere – a strong, fearless, badass girl who wants revenge for her fallen family – she has people she needs dead, and becoming a member of the Red Church will hone her skills for her to achieve her goals of murder and revenge.

I will admit, the first 100-or so pages of this book, I was confused af. I listened to the majority of this as an audiobook. Part 1 of this book has a lot of back and forth from past to present was very confusing as audio (but its less confusing as text, as the past is denoted with italics where the present is regular text). I was really iffy about this book until Mia arrived at the Red Church, where she would learn to be a Blade (assassin) and then things started to click into place. I had to go back and reread some passages and then everything made sense. But its worth it! Push past the confusion! It’ll all make sense and BE WORTH IT I PROMISE!!!!!! 
The audiobook narration is EXCELLENT. I LOVE IT. I’m very hesitant about male narrators (especially when the main character is female?!) but Holter Graham did incredible with all the voices!!!!! I do recommend this audiobook but be prepared to be confused for the first half of the story, as I mentioned. And the audiobook is 20 hours. Good luck. (I started at 1.5x speed because CONFUSED about names/places/things/people/our friendly narrator giving footnotes, but I was able to do the second half of the book at 2x speed so its not too bad in terms of length.)

The writing is complex, especially with all the foreign names/places/things, but you will get used to it as you read and I’m finding myself thinking in the way they speak in this story now, o gentlefriends. Once I got into it, it felt natural for the world and natural to hear and read.

Please bury me with this book I haven’t been so in love with a story in a long time.

“Never flinch. Never fear. And never, ever forget.”

I’m so glad to be able to jump right into Godsgrave after Nevernight and if you were thinking about reading this series, now would be the perfect time! (But then you would have to wait for the final book of this trilogy…but that’s a minor detail. Come suffer with me.)

~Missy

Published by

frayedbooks

➰⚡️👑 📚Goodreads: tayecar & missykitty 📩Contact: frayedbooks@yahoo.com 🗣Twitter: @frayedbooks

18 thoughts on “Review: ‘Nevernight’”

    1. Thank you!! Me tooooo this series is SO GOOD!!!!! It’s definitely one of my favorites now too!! Mia is so badass I’m always rooting for her 🙂 I actually just finished Godsgrave and have that review going up soon too and I’m dying for the final book!!!! The wait is going to be painful.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I just reviewed this for today, haha. I loved it so much too! SO much! I already own Godsgrave, but I made myself wait to start it. I’m still a little devastated by Nevernight and need a bit of time. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay reviews for Nevernight! ^__^ Ah see I loved Nevernight so much I jumped right into Godsgrave without even coming up for air lol I couldn’t wait to start the next one XD But alas now I must wait until end of 2018 for the final book so…maybe it’s better to wait 😅

      Like

Leave a Reply

