ARC Review: ‘Dear Martin’

Wow. Just wow. What a powerful and eye opening read! Add this to your TBR and read this book when it is released. Trust me.

Author: Nic Stone
Rating: 4/5 stars
Release Date: October 17, 2017

Dear Martin is set in Atlanta and follows 17-year-old Justyce McAllister, top of his class at a private boarding school and set for an Ivy League college following his graduation. Even when he wasn’t doing anything wrong, a (white) police officer assumed he was doing something criminal and arrested him. And that’s just the beginning.

Justyce has a journal he keeps throughout this book, a personal project he decided to start which involves writing letter to Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. – hence the title, Dear Martin. In these journal entries we hear Justyce’s point of view and how he feels.

This is a fast-paced 200-odd paged book that I finished in about 2 hours. (I’m usually a slow reader.) This isn’t normally something I would pick up, being a fan of fantasy most of all. But I am glad I received a copy of this book at Book Con 2017. I picked it up on a whim. And you know what? This was the first book from my pile that I read.

Justice is not served in America. You can watch the news or read a newspaper and see that. Things are by no means equal for whites and POC, no matter what anyone says. There is an eye opening argument/debate in this book where a white male character says it is unfair that he was not accepted into an Ivy League university meanwhile our protagonist Justyce was, only because schools have quotas they need to meet for African Americans and races besides Caucasian. This is literally what he argues. It has nothing to do with Justyce having the top grades to justify this acceptance, its goes straight to race.

Another point brought up is that if a white male and a black male committed the same crime, the black male would undoubtedly be tried harsher then the white male. Let’s just take a look at the evening news on any given day of the week and that is what we will see.

This book made me mad. It made me angry in that it is all 100% true. Justyce feels this too, that things aren’t fair and how he has to fight harder then his white counterparts. Despite receiving the same education, he will always be seen as less and need to work harder. In real life, as a white female, I don’t have these same struggles. While yes, women do have their own struggles in a world of men, I will admit simply being white affords me more opportunities and less judgment then a person of color would receive. So please please please seek out and read other reviews besides this one. Don’t take my word for it – but do read this book.

It was a short read and it could have gone into more depth, but I think this is a great conversation starter and a powerful read I would very much recommend to anyone who thinks justice is not justice at all. Or simply if you’re looking for a new perspective. Do yourself a favor and pick this book up when it’s released on October 17th, 2017.

~Missy

 

Published by

frayedbooks

➰⚡️👑 📚Goodreads: tayecar & missykitty 📩Contact: frayedbooks@yahoo.com 🗣Twitter: @frayedbooks

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: ‘Dear Martin’”

  1. The day this is released I will be at the bookstore to get a finished copy of it. I have been patiently waiting on it. Great review touching upon the deeper issues showcased by this book, which is the reason I want to read it so badly!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

