Review: ‘The Love Interest’

This is the first of 7 reads that I won from a giveaway on Twitter that I decided to review this week!
Title: The Love Interest

Author: Cale Dietrich

Series: Standalone

Rating: 2.5/5 stars

This book is about a secret organization that produces Love Interests for those that need spying on. That’s the easiest way to put it. Caden and Dyl are love interests created for a girl named Juliet: both are sent out into the world to win her heart and whoever wins gets to keep her, whoever loses has to die. It sounds super harsh but that is the way of the world in this book and boy, does it get interesting.

I expected a lot more from this book. I wanted to like it but I found myself saying ‘wtf?’ After the first 100 pages. It didn’t seem charming and it didn’t seem like something I would want to continue reading, but I had to know the ending at that point. The one redeeming quality about this was the LGBT romance. I literally called it within the first 100 pages so it wasn’t really a joy or a surprise when it turned out that way. But I think the way it happened was sort of cute and I did like that they ended up together. I won’t say who, that’s for you to read and find out, if you want! I also found Juliet to be less than stereotypical in the way she was portrayed as a ‘nerd’. She was pretty and funny and had a personality that seemed to figuratively light up a room. I don’t get why the organization wanted to spy on her, per say: she is incredibly intelligent and nex generation with her tech, but I didn’t think it was enough to attain a love interest. The reason is given but it just didn’t work for me and in general this book didn’t work for me.

Which brings me to my main problem: I felt nothing from this book. It’s sad to say that, but I really didn’t. I didn’t feel anything for the characters and the plot didn’t really have much advancement except for the fact that the two interests were trying to win Juliet. Speaking of that: I know it must have been a play on girls having to be perfect for men to make two men perfect for girls, but it just felt… Not genuine. The whole book seemed like a game of back and forth and cat and mouse and it was predictable because of that. Caden was the only one with a real personality in the book and that was probably because we hear the story from his point of view and it was expanded on by writing his thoughts and desires. The story felt kind of sci-fi in ways and I thought of the Maze Runner more than a few times. The organization in the book (LIC, I forgot to mention) seemed a lot like WICKED, but not in the same manner.

I don’t know if I could recommend this book but if you want an LGBT read, it could be worth a shot!

Happy reading! ~ Taylor

Published by

frayedbooks

➰⚡️👑 📚Goodreads: tayecar & missykitty 📩Contact: frayedbooks@yahoo.com 🗣Twitter: @frayedbooks

2 thoughts on “Review: ‘The Love Interest’”

Leave a Reply

